VW Scirocco 2.0 TFSI

Discussion in 'WIP Critique: Advanced Video Game & Real-Time' started by Martin Leps, Sep 5, 2012.

1. Martin Leps

Martin Leps New Member

3d graphic artist
    Hey there everybody!

First of all, I must say that the quality of the models shown around here is absolutely astonishing! There's so many models around here showing insane skills and dedication, it's just crazy...

I've been lurking these forums for many years now, it's always been my primary source for good blueprints. So now, I've decided it's time for me to contribute to the community and post some shots of my latest car project.

It might differ a little from what's usually posted around here - and I'm not quite sure where exactly to put it... I've been working in the games industry for more than 5 years now, and I've concentrated on low- to midpoly modelling most of the time. This model is meant to be put into a game engine and the approach is to model a mid-poly version which is suitable for performant realtime rendering, while also providing a clean and solid base to be subdivided further to get a high definition show room version of the car.

It turned out to be a difficult approach though, since a lot of the details I'd like to cover would actually require a higher geometry resolution than I'm willing to invest... ;)
    So, I will not stick to that quest a 100%. Also, since for Mesh Smooth, the model requires quite a lot of geometry to maintain a clean loop flow, which is actually not necessary for the shading of the base model. So what I'll do is: I'll just put in more polies where needed and keep all the extra loops in for now, but once it's completely done, I will split the models and keep one high poly, while stripping down the 'low' poly version again to optimize poly count.