Rhino car modelling : The next audi TT

Discussion in 'Tutorials: Modeling' started by The Rain Knight, Feb 7, 2005.

  1. The Rain Knight

    The Rain Knight Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    Estival Technical Director
    Location:
    France
    Flamingo may be able to deal with GI and HDri. but i never used it.
    Always exported to max, as explain in the last stage.
     
  2. soljarag

    soljarag Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hey... umm... am i blind, or is there not a link to download the blueprints?
     
  3. The Rain Knight

    The Rain Knight Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    Estival Technical Director
    Location:
    France
    you can find it on my port folio. get down the blueprints list and you'll find it in very high resolution. have a good modelling /
     
  4. soljarag

    soljarag Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you talking about the "3d cars" link, or what :)
     
  5. soljarag

    soljarag Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    never mind, found it :)
     
  6. XSImatrix

    XSImatrix Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    lol at soljarag , hehe, Too bad I dont have Rhino, I would love to do this tut , been following this since it started :roll:
     
  7. Pete81

    Pete81 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    About the welding. Is it okey if I do this -> select all vertices, and then weld all those selected vertices with value 0,0? It works and if I try weld them again it sais that "no vertices within weld treshold". I thought that it only weld those vertices that are touching each other. Is this correct? Anyway the surface looks nice and this saves lot of time when you can weld all vertices at same time :). So I'm asking do you guys know if this is the "bad way" to do it?
     
  8. Pete81

    Pete81 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So. Nobody knows? :(
     
  9. NightEye

    NightEye VIP

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    10,508
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Zuidlaren, The Netherlands
    It takes some time before anyone with the right anwser reeds this..

    Maybe your technique is more comlex, but as long as it works, it's okay to do. :)
     
  10. The Rain Knight

    The Rain Knight Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    Estival Technical Director
    Location:
    France
    'im sorry i did not check this post for a long time.
    anyway, welding is not always necessary. if you see some "jump" or "offset" in the reflections, weld this seam. Actually my advice is the following :
    weld only the seams between large surface. because very often some triangles are deformed and after welding give you some dark shading spot.

    but you can select all large surfaces, hide the inverse selection, then select all vertices and weld. The result's the same. The problem is just with boudary surfaces.

    excuse my bad english. I've to get some rest :)

    good luck.
     
  11. Pete81

    Pete81 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for you answer :). I was thinking that not all parts necessarily need to be welded since I haven't earlier done it at all :oops:. But I see that I should had done some welding to my models since there is some seams visible at some places :roll:.


    Oh, almost forgot. So that "weld selected with value 0,0" just simply welds those vertices which are touching each other like I was guessing? Couldn't find any info about this even checked the hand book(starts to look like that I'm blind :D).
     
  12. soljarag

    soljarag Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    actually, if you weld virts, then you notice wierd black stuff in the viewport, all you gotta do is add a "Smooth" modifier and check "auto smooth" and it should clear up all the wierd edges

    this mostly works when you weld 90 degree angled surfaces together
     
  13. Ahterion

    Ahterion New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very nice tutorial!
    Thank you!

    I've also seen your "R version" of this car in another forum.
    Did you model the extra parts "on top of" the basic version, or did you have to rework some of the old parts?

    Is there some sort of "non -destructive" modeling with NURBS?
    Because I realize that it is very hard to correct mistakes you've made earlier.
    With polygons you can simply change your mesh but a NURBS model is made of many different parts.
    Now I would have to rework half the car, just to have clean longer wheel archs :shock:
     
  14. The Rain Knight

    The Rain Knight Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    Estival Technical Director
    Location:
    France
    Well, Rhino doesn't support yet an history linked with the modelling. It exists in Maya or StudioTools nurbs. You can edit an object parameter in the history and rebuild all that have been built after that.

    I think it's partly working in the WIP 4.0 Version of rhino. But did not try it yet.
    in 3.0 version, you have to be sure the surface you built is perfect before making any trim and build other surfaces based on it.
     
  15. alfabeta

    alfabeta New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Edit:

    NOTICE on the export to Max section. When the PackTextures radiobutton is NOT selected, the unwrap modifier in Max will not work.

    Very nice tutorial!

    Had a look at you Bugatti too, very clean modelling. What can I say... the best Rhino work I've seen since the SuurlandBeetle.

    The last bit aboute exporting to Max was very interesting. I have one question that is as much a Max question as it is a Rhino question, but here I go: Exporting to Max from Rhino with IGES is very convenient because as you say; it is much faster then the Mesh method. The only reason that I dont use IGES is that I cant get the unwrapUVW modifier to work with IGES files (even after converting the nurbs surfaces to poly ore mesh in Max)

    Anybody know a way round this problem?

    -Chris
     
  16. soljarag

    soljarag Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hey, i finnally found some more time to work on this, and whenever i try to make the wheel arch the bottom of it looks really bad, anyone know why?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Ahterion

    Ahterion New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I had the same problem.
    I guess it would be bettter to model the whole wheel arch right from the start and then cutting it in pieces.
    But i would also like to know how to fix that without starting over.
     
  18. The Rain Knight

    The Rain Knight Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    Estival Technical Director
    Location:
    France
    soljarag, i'll check your file wedneday night, cos i don't have rhino running on this machine.

    alfabeta, thx for the tip on the Packtextures radiobutton.
    and i did not think of that uvw problem with iges problem. I think the thing is the uv directions are the same on the nurbs object in max and in rhino. So the mapping should work either. What about converting it to mesh in max and see what you can get with the unwrap ??
    if you have only a few parts on which you want to apply an unwrap, it could be still a good point to use iges export.
     
  19. The Rain Knight

    The Rain Knight Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    Estival Technical Director
    Location:
    France
    soljarag, i looked at your file.

    when building the arch with the NetworkSrf, specify Loose on the small straight edges. Tangency on the curved edge and position on the small one are incompatible in the corner, do you see what i mean ?

    nice modelling for the rest of the car ! keep it up !
     
  20. soljarag

    soljarag Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks man!!! , that cleared it all up :)
     

Share This Page