PhotoModeling

Discussion in 'Tutorials: Modeling' started by Jpaang, Jul 6, 2012.

  1. ettore

    ettore VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hey Jpaang, where you disappeared to?
     
  2. TwoOneOne

    TwoOneOne Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Polygon & Nurbs Modeler @ RTT.AG Munich
    this thread really took a turn for the worse.
    Obviously this tutorial is not going to happen any time soon, so please stop posting every other day asking for it and maybe start figuring it out yourself.
    Feel free to use this thread to share what you´ve learnt and maybe make a tutorial yourself in the end. This usually is a very good way to learn and give back to the community at the same time.

    cheers
     
  3. rulerz

    rulerz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Occupation:
    Student
    Ok guys, I managed that this won't work in 3ds Max 2009, that's why I couldn't create anything.. I tried it in 2012 and it works..
     
  4. VitaminD

    VitaminD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    rulerz, What exactly doesn't work?
    It worked for me in 2008+ 3ds max versions.
     
  5. Jpaang

    Jpaang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    Machinist
    Location:
    United States
    Sorry about my absence, I started this thread thinking that I could handle all of this work. It turns out this thread would be better suited for open discussion. As time passes, I bet a solution to this method will come about. *will be posting*
     
  6. Jpaang

    Jpaang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    Machinist
    Location:
    United States
    My quest for photomodeling:

    Finding Images of Car: Successful
    ImageModeler: Successful
    Import to 3DSMax 2009: Successful
    Scene Setup in Max: Learning

    My primary issue happens after I load the bitmaps onto the reference planes, I jump into the camera looking at the angle of the car that was calibrated in Imagemodeler, when I go to draw the spline It only seems to draw the spline on the X and Y axis, no Z axis. To me this sounds like and obvious question, but it's important if I want to write a .pdf about this.
     
  7. rulerz

    rulerz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Occupation:
    Student
    In 2009 it won't import cameras, or, it imports names but there are no objects of cameras while in 2010+ it normally imports cameras..
     
  8. Jpaang

    Jpaang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    Machinist
    Location:
    United States
    thats odd, 2009 works for me, but I had no luck with the .fbx files in 2008
     
  9. VitaminD

    VitaminD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Splines must be drawn based on locators imported from IM.
    Enable 3D snaps.
    In properties of snaps choose "Pivots".
    Start drawing line clicking on dummy objects to create base shape
    then set all vertices to bezier
    and start tweaking shape of it so it fits all views from cameras
    (sometimes i use screen coordinates for to move spline points to adjust shape)


    try updating plugin for fbx
    from Autodesk - Autodesk FBX - FBX Plug-Ins, Converter, and QuickTime Viewer Downloads
    or Autodesk - Autodesk FBX - Plug-in and Converter Archives for older versions
     
  10. subaqua25

    subaqua25 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Occupation:
    CGI lighting/ Poly modeling
    Hey all, thought ill share something i thought of and tried today.

    not sure if anyone has mentioned it here, but a fast way to get a base mesh good enough to give correct scaling is to use Gran Turismo 5, pick the car you want and make sure you make the car paint a matte paint. Then take it into the photo mode and take a about 15 photos going around half the car.

    Then take it to something like 123D catch.

    Saves having to find a real car :)

    btw has anyone by chance found out a way to extract a car model from GT5?
     
  11. Jpaang

    Jpaang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    Machinist
    Location:
    United States
    Kind of irrelevant on this thread but i'll answer your questions anyway.

    I find GT5 annoying when it comes to photomode, because all of the "Standard" cars you can't get close to. I wanted some shots of the Jaguar S-type R and Mercedes CL600, but I was stopped by that ridiculous message.

    Ripping GT5 cars, not exactly possible at this time. Although it is possible to rip from GT4 with an emulator by using either 3DRipperDX or Ninja Ripper.

    How about starting a thread in off topic about this, just to keep this thread seperate.
     
  12. Jpaang

    Jpaang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    Machinist
    Location:
    United States
    I've been practicing this method daily, and I am sure I'm getting the hang of it. I'll post my cage of a Freelander 2 soon and i'll explain what I did.
     
  13. Jpaang

    Jpaang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    Machinist
    Location:
    United States
    Update - I've become a master at Insight3D, I hope to start a .pdf tutorial on my next project. My current project is a Lincoln MKT Town Car. Its way too complex for beginners.
     
  14. streetnoise

    streetnoise New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    sorry to bump up the old thread , but i found a video that use a image modeler >>
     
  15. 0utsider

    0utsider Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Thanks for your post. I recently used this old but yet good piece of software and it was very helpful.
    Moreover someone posted on youtube the entire process, from references preparation to modeling into 3dsmax. This is the link to the youtube user profile page:
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCEKU0izM_y_XHmsqq7SsLfA
     
  16. Deseme

    Deseme New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    If only I knew Russian...
     
  17. 0utsider

    0utsider Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    43
    I don't know russian and you don't need too. Just watch. :)
     

Share This Page