PhotoModeling

Discussion in 'Tutorials: Modeling' started by Jpaang, Jul 6, 2012.

  1. etatar

    etatar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    oh sorry ok. pan camera tool.

    thanks for helps espacially

    "Jpaang
    VitaminD ( your smcars profile inbox is fully,not accept private message:) )
    bloodyzyy
    Minde"
     
  2. VitaminD

    VitaminD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    yeah .. i've cleared it today.. :)
     
  3. Jpaang

    Jpaang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    Machinist
    Location:
    United States
    I was experimenting with Imagemodeler yesterday and I found if you create polygons when your locators are green it will define the basic shape of the model once placed in 3dsmax. Also someone mentioned something about a pirated copy of IM, mine isn't pirated. I bought Max 2009 unopened on ebay for a great price, when I registerd it was offered to me as a bonus. Do you thinks I said no...OF COURSE NOT! I'll be back soon with my Freelander 2 scene in 3dsmax.
     
  4. VitaminD

    VitaminD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    i never use any modeling tools inside IM..
    i think its better to use this time for placing more modeling locators
    and then - splines + surface/nurbs or just usual polymodeling using this 3d cage
     
  5. Jpaang

    Jpaang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    Machinist
    Location:
    United States
    stupid question... Is there any difference between calibration locators and modeling locators?
     
  6. VitaminD

    VitaminD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    difference is only in ImageModeler (IM)

    calibration locators (CL) are used in calibration, modeling locators (ML) - not
    so basically i create about 50 CL for camera matching and then about 50+ ML for modeling purposes
    sometimes i convert ML to CL and recalibrate cameras to add some preciseness
    in this case all ML are corrected too, so don't be afraid to spoil everything

    outside IM there is no difference..they all are exported as helpers
     
  7. ettore

    ettore VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Jpaang, Where you hidin' out at?
     
  8. tom120934

    tom120934 Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4,489
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    COO
    Nice point ettore.

    For keeping it the legal way, one can use insight3d using my 2011 tutorial I already posted about here : Pixels or Atoms ? ยป Modeling without blueprints, from pictures

    The insight3d software looks abandonned, but it does the job.

    I was able to successfully use it to produce a 3D blueprint of a car from refpics only.

    It's free, and interoperable.
     
  9. ettore

    ettore VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Tom, I bookmarked your site several months ago and admire your work, especially the Marcos, as I tend to be a bit more traditional than most around here. I played with insight3d a couple of times but really couldn't get the hang of it, although I didn't try very hard, either. I'm on other projects now, but will get back to it, as there are cars I'd like to model - I'm a 1/24th scale builder - that there are no plans for; the only way to produce them is by photomodeling from photos.
     
  10. tom120934

    tom120934 Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4,489
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    COO
    I actually enjoyed using insight3d. Not because the software is fine, but because I'm really enthusiast with photomodeling.

    Well, I guess doing a Sesto Elemento with only sharp edges is much easier than doing eg. the Marcos.
     
  11. ettore

    ettore VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    OK, what now?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Falango

    Falango Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Occupation:
    3D Artist
    I think you'll need more pictures and that, and ones that are higher resolution.
     
  13. ettore

    ettore VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have 9 of that Maserati. But I've tried it with about 25 of the Pegaso Thrill and made a big mess of it. I'll try again with the Pegaso and post the results.
     
  14. ettore

    ettore VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Still having lots of problems with numerous green lines. I'm using about 50 points on 22 photos; I('m wondering if my problem is mixing photos from different sources? Next experiment is to use photos from one source.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. ettore

    ettore VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    VitD in post 61 says that you can use photos from different cameras in insight. Now I'm really confused. But will keep hacking away at it. Got to learn insight3d, as IM is waaaaaay too expensive. VitD, can you point the way out of my problem?
     
  16. VitaminD

    VitaminD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    i was talking about IM...i'm not familiar with Insight3d yet..
     
  17. ettore

    ettore VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    VitD, Thanks for the info. I just had this thing crash on me again, this is really getting old.
     
  18. ettore

    ettore VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I find that I can buy from discount software dealers ( not torrents or crackz or anything like that) Realviz ImageModeler 4.0 for $65 and Autodesk ImageModeler 2009 for $200. What is the difference between them , if any? Insight3d is beginning to wear me out.
     
  19. ettore

    ettore VIP

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Further checking on the discount software dealers leads me to believe they are selling illegal copies of IM. Oh well, back to Insight3d.
     
  20. tres

    tres New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

Share This Page